top of page
  • Writer's picturesooner Sprint Series

Smith wins inaugural Sooner Sprint Series feature at Monarch Motor Speedway

Photo by Bevy Photography

by John Rittenoure - WICHITA FALLS, Texas (April 9, 2021) - Danny Smith drove around Dean Drake, Jr. on lap three and went the distance to win the inaugural Sooner Sprint Series feature Friday at Monarch Motor Speedway.

It was the first night of racing for the new Sooner series and Smith has the distinction of winning the opening event.

Drake led the first lap before Smith, who started outside second row, pulled alongside down the backstretch of lap two. Smith opened up a good lead with Drake giving chase. On lap 23 Smith moved in on lapped traffic and Drake closed in. However, the Collinsville racer could not make the pass and followed Smith to the checkered.

“He kind of got me around the top a little bit and I just let the race play out a little bit,” said Drake of Smith passing him for the lead. “I rolled the bottom and we caught him. We were staying right with him then the brakes started fading a little bit.”

Jett Hays moved into third three laps from the finish. Alison Slaton 12th starting position to finish fourth. Slaton was the hard charger of the night. Kevin Ramey came from seventh to finish fifth.

Sooner Sprint Series Results

Monarch Motor Speedway

April 9, 2021

Heat 1 (10 laps) - 1. 83-Jett Hays; 2. 5$-Danny Smith; 3. 3K-JT Kelly; 4. $5-Emilee Lowry; 5. 29B-Duane Baker; 6. 911-Ty Williams.

Heat 2 (10 laps) - 1. 32K-Chris Kelly; 2. 29S-Blake Scott; 3. 77-Dean Drake; 4. 5M-Kevin Ramey; 5. B52-Brayden Voigt; 6. 6-Alison Slaton.

A Feature (30 laps) - 1. 5$-Danny Smith; 2. 77-Dean Drake; 3. 83-Jett Hays; 4. 6-Alison Slaton; 5. 5M-Kevin Ramey; 6. 32K-Chris Kelly; 7. 911-Ty Williams; 8. BB52-Brayden Voigt; 9. 33K-JT Kelly; 10. 29B-Duane Baker; 11. 29S-Blake Scott; 12. $5-Emilee Lowry.

Top 10 Standings: 1, Danny Smith 129; 2, Dean Drake, Jr. 123; 3. Jett Hays 120; 4. Alison Slaton 112; 5. Kevin Ramey 111; 6. Chris Kelly 111; 7. Ty Williams 103; 8. Brayden Voigt 101; 9. JT Kelly 100; 10. Blake Scott 96.

104 views0 comments


bottom of page